e-Medhabruti Guidelines 2016-17

The Government of Odisha in Higher Education Department have been awarding scholarship each year for encouragement to the meritorious students for prosecuting their higher studies in the field of general {+2 (Jr.), +3 (Sr.) & P.G.} Courses as well as Technical / Professional education. This has necessitated for issue of guidelines pertaining to the selection procedure of eligible students for award of such scholarship.

At present 5 types of scholarship are being awarded by the Higher Education Department viz:

SL# Type Quantum (in Nos.)

Junior Merit ( for + 2 students)



Senior Merit ( for + 3 students)



Post Graduate



Technical & Professional



Special Girls Merit


(Fresh applications per year)


The minimum qualifying marks, qualifying examination, period of scholarship, quantum of students/amount, selection procedure of different categories of scholarships are mentioned below in a tabular form for better understanding of all concerned.

SL# Name of Scholarship Selection Procedure
1 Junior Merit Scholarship for +2 Students
2 Senior Merit for +3 Students
3 P.G. Merit (Post Graduate) Scholarship
4 Technical & Professional
5 Special Girls Merit
Sl# Courses No. of Scholarship
1 M.B.B.S 682
2 B.D.S 377
3 Students admitted from All India Test Pursuing Higher technical/ professional Studies in reputed National/ outside the state of Institutions 800
4 Engineering 7000
5 Veterinary Science 60
6 Agriculture Science 40
7 Agriculture Engineering 30
8 Forestry Science 20
9 Fishery Science 20
10 Home Science 10
11 B. Pharma 30
12 B.Sc. (Nursing) 30
13 Bachelor in Homeopathy 20
14 Bachelor in Ayurvedic 20
15 5 Year Integrated LAW 20
16 5 Year Integrated MBA 100
17 5 Year Integrated MCA 100
18 3 Year MCA 100
19 Tourism 30
20 Hotel & Hospitality Management 30
21 Lateral Entry of Students in 2nd year of Engineering 110
22 Master in Financial Control (MFC) 15
23 Bachelor in Physiotherapy 10
24 2 year MBA 200
25 2year PGDM 146
Sl# Name of the Institutions No. of Scholarship allotted
1 JIPMER, Puducherry or AIIMS 4
2 Indian Institute of Management 5
3 Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru 2
4 IIT / NIT 10
5 Government Medical Colleges 15
6 Government Dental College 2
7 XIM, Bhubaneswar 3
8 Any other Institute recognized by State / Central Govt. 3
Total 44

General Criteria / Limitations for award of Scholarship

  • The scholarship meant for +2, +3, & P.G. students shall be awarded to boys & girls in 50:50 ratio. In case requisite numbers of candidates are not available under any category of scholarship, then the balance number of scholarship shall be awarded to the other eligible applicants of the same scholarship category.
  • The income ceiling of parents shall not exceed Rs.6.00 lakh per annum. The concerned students shall submit income and resident certificate from the Revenue Officer not below the rank of Tahasildar / Additional Tahasildar. The students whose parents are working under Odisha State Govt. have to produce income as well as resident proof from the employer.
  • A student already in receipt of any scholarship awarded by the State/Central Govt. or any other agency can not avail this scholarship unless he/she intends to forgo the other scholarship. If any students after receiving scholarship under Medhabruti receives scholarship from any other source at a higher rate, he/she shall refund the scholarship amount through the head of the institution by bank draft in favour of the ‘Under Secretary to Government, Higher Education Department’ payable at Bhubaneswar.
  • Multiple registrations by the students are strictly prohibited. If any student is found to have been indulged in such irregularity his/her application will be rejected.
  • In case, requisite number of candidates are not available under professional/Technical/ Special girls Merit categories of scholarship, then the balance number of scholarship shall be awarded to other eligible applicants of other stream of the same scholarship category proportionately.
  • Students pursuing their higher studies through distance learning correspondence are not eligible for such scholarship.
  • The Technical/Professional scholarship does not cover students pursuing Diploma level courses.
  • The scholarship may be discontinued at any time of the report of the Head of the Education Institution that the academic progress and conduct of the concerned student has not been satisfactory. Good conduct shall be a necessary condition of every grant/ renewal of scholarship.

Mode of disbursement

  • Disbursement shall be made through Electronic Credit System (ECS). The payment shall be made to the Saving Bank Account of the selected students directly by the above system. For this online account transfer the Saving Bank Account of the students must be in active and operative condition.
  • The scholarship amount shall be disbursed in phased manner. If the scholarship amount could not be disbursed in a financial year due to any reason the said disbursement shall be made next financial year.

Mode of submitting scholarship application

  • Desirous students are requested to apply online for the scholarship by clicking "e-medhabruti" in the Government website www.dheodisha.gov.in / website www.medhabruti.org directly.They are advised to go through the guidelines thoroughly and carefully before filling the form online. The students are required to submit the downloaded form along with supporting documents to the head of the institution where s/he is continuing their higher study.
  • The Head of the Institution is required to verify all submitted scholarship application (only online downloaded application). After verification, all applications need to be duly countersigned by the Head of the Institution. The Head of the Institution is required to submit the verified, downloaded scholarship applications along with the supporting documents at any "SAMS Resource Center" (SRCs).
  • Outside students shall submit the hard copy of the downloaded application forms duly countersigned by his/her head of the institution along with copies of supporting documents to the “Deputy Secretary (Scholarship), Higher Education Department, Odisha, Bhubaneswar-751001” by Registered Post within the stipulated time for consideration in the Higher Education Department.
  • Concerned students are advised to keep a copy of the downloaded application form for their future reference.

Renewal of Scholarship

  • Desirous students are requested to apply online for renewal scholarship by the Government website www.medhabruti.org
  • They are advised to print the renewal Application Form after successfully apply online.
  • The students are required to submit the Printed Application Form with supporting documents to the head of the institution where s/he is continuing study.
  • The head of the institution shall submit the hard copy of the downloaded renewal application form duly countersigned by him along with copies of supporting documents to any "SAMS Resource Center".